Skip to main content

Workspace balance

Where to find your workspace balance


Your workspace’s balance is shown on the ‘Finance’ tab in the left sidebar and at the top of the Finance page. This balance represents the total funds available to launch new studies.

You can see your total balance including funds allocated to active studies by clicking the 'Details' tab next to your balance on the Finance page.

Here you will see the breakdown of your total balance in terms of service fees and participant rewards.

When you have a study running (i.e., ‘Active’, ‘Paused’, or ‘Awaiting Review’), the balance shown at the top of your Finance page may be different from the total balance shown. This is because some funds are being reserved from your total balance to cover the cost of the active study, and so are not available to launch new studies with.

Workspace balance


This is the amount of your total balance that is available for you to spend on further studies. When you publish a study, your workspace balance will decrease, as we’ll reserve funds to cover the cost of this study. All funds required for active studies (including those that are awaiting review) are reserved from your total balance. Once submissions for these studies are approved, your total balance will reduce accordingly. The workspace balance is therefore your total balance minus the amount being reserved for active studies.

Please note that to increase places for a study, or to publish a new one, your workspace balance must be high enough to cover the costs of the additional participants. If you stop an active study before it reaches the number of maximum submissions, any unspent funds from the participants you did not recruit will be restored to your workspace balance for use elsewhere.

Service fees


This is the amount of your total balance pre-paid to Prolific as service fees. For relevant researchers, this will also include VAT.

Participant rewards


This is the amount of your total balance that you have available for participant payments. For example, this could be spent on approvals or bonus payments.

Total balance


This is the total amount in your account. This figure is made up of all money you've added and any Prolific credit you've received (e.g. a referral bonus), minus any funds spent on participant payments (such as approved submissions or bonus payments). This figure includes funds that are already reserved for studies.

Why is my balance showing a negative / incorrect amount?


If you've recently processed a large number of approvals or bonus payments, it's possible that our system will still be processing these when you check your balance. Therefore, our system may temporarily display an incorrect balance (e.g. a negative amount).

When this occurs, and you're sure that you have no outstanding payments on any active studies, we'd recommend waiting ~10 minutes, then logging out and back in. This should give our system sufficient time to process any remaining payments, and refresh your balance to the correct amount.

If you still see an incorrect balance after logging back in and are not sure why, feel free to contact Support via the button below. 


I need further help

 Click here to contact us

Was this article helpful?
powered by Typeform