Where to find your workspace balance
Your workspace’s balance is shown on the ‘Finance’ tab in the left sidebar and at the top of the Finance page. This balance represents the total funds available to launch new studies.
This is the amount that is available for you to spend on further studies. When you publish a study, your workspace balance will decrease, as we’ll reserve funds to cover the cost of this study. All funds required for active studies (including those that are awaiting review) are reserved while these studies are running.
Please note that to increase places for a study, or to publish a new one, your workspace balance must be high enough to cover the costs of the additional participants. If you stop an active study before it reaches the number of maximum submissions, any unspent funds from the participants you did not recruit will be restored to your workspace balance for use elsewhere.
This is the amount of your total balance pre-paid to Prolific as service fees. For relevant researchers, this will also include VAT.
This is the amount of your total balance that you have available for participant payments. For example, this could be spent on approvals or bonus payments.
Why is my balance showing a negative / incorrect amount?
If you've recently processed a large number of approvals or bonus payments, it's possible that our system will still be processing these when you check your balance. Therefore, our system may temporarily display an incorrect balance (e.g. a negative amount).
When this occurs, and you're sure that you have no outstanding payments on any active studies, we'd recommend waiting ~10 minutes, then logging out and back in. This should give our system sufficient time to process any remaining payments, and refresh your balance to the correct amount.
If you still see an incorrect balance after logging back in and are not sure why, feel free to contact Support via the button below.